Eight ATC Fellows Selected For Ed Equity Fellowship

Eight Arkansas Teacher Corps fellows have been selected for cohort 5 of the Arkansas Academy for Educational Equity fellowship, a program of the College of Education and Health Professions at the University of Arkansas that results in a Master of Education (M.Ed.) in Educational Equity.

Temisha Daniel (ATC ’19), Nora Fisher-Cummings (ATC ’20), Ava Hollins-Rogers (ATC ’19), Maggie Howard (ATC ’19), DaLecia Jones (ATC ’19), Darrah Maxfield (ATC ’19), Ta’Nessa Robinson (ATC ’17), and Brianna Young (ATC ’20) were selected from a competitive application process to begin the program in summer 2022.

The Arkansas Academy for Educational Equity strives to increase educational equity in Arkansas by preparing and supporting teachers in underserved districts across the state. While in the two-year online program, equity fellows teach full-time while strengthening their teaching skills through a rigorous set of coursework, coaching, content-area support, and practical pedagogical resources.

Funding has been provided by the Walton Family Foundation to cover the full-cost of tuition and fees for the master’s degree, although participants will be required to pay some expenses for books and other supplies. Equity fellows must also commit to working in one of AAEE’s high-needs partner school districts for the duration of the program.